If you use LinkedIn you know that you have three levels of connections. First level connections are the most important. These are the people you know and who know you. (That will be the case if you follow LinkedIn’s advice about connecting.)
Did you also know that your first level connections can see your complete list of first level connections?
If you are connected to someone, every one else you are connected to can see you are connected.
This is not a problem if you only connect with people you know, like and trust. If you connect with others and accept connection requests from people who ask to connect with you who you do not know, then you could be creating problems for yourself.
Every one of your connections is visible to him or her. Every one of your connections is now a second level connection because you are connected to him or her.
What can you do? You can take action.
Restrict Views Of Your Connections List
Only connect with people you know, like and trust.
Restrict access to your list of connections to yourself.
What happens when you do this?
Your connections can no longer see your complete list of first level connections. They can only see SHARED connections.
How To Restrict Views Of Your Connections List
- Make sure you are logged in to LinkedIn
- Go to your profile.
- Hover your mouse over the image of yourself in the top right of the screen.
- View the menu that appears.
- Select Privacy & Settings.
- You will be taken to a different screen. Below the grey box you will see the sub-heading Privacy Controls.
- Click on “Select Who Can See Your Connections” and choose the “Only You” option.
If you need support with creating a great LinkedIn profile we can help.
If you would like to learn how to use LinkedIn to advance your career, we have a support programme for you.